

## OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR

1509 West Seventh Street, Suite 401 Post Office Box 3278 Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-3278 Phone: (501) 682-2242 Fax: (501) 682-1029

http://www.arkansas.gov/dfa

Contact: Clarence Collins

Telephone: 501/682-1130 Fax: 501/682-1691

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 11, 2008

## Tax Relief for Disaster Victims

LITTLE ROCK, AR— The Department of Finance and Administration announced today that taxpayers in 52 counties declared state disaster areas due to damages caused by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding will be provided special tax relief. The Department is extending the deadline for taxpayers who reside or have a business in the disaster areas to file and pay any tax due on their individual or corporate income tax returns until August 15, 2008.

Affected Counties. The affected counties are: Arkansas, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Crawford, Craighead, Cross, Faulkner, Fulton, Garland, Greene, Hot Springs, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Lee, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Monroe, Nevada, Newton, Perry, Phillips, Pike, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff, and Yell.

In addition the Department will waive the failure to file, failure to pay, and interest charges for businesses unable to make withholding deposits for tax payments due April 3, 2008 to May 27, 2008 because of the recent storms, tornadoes, and flooding.

When claiming the special extension on a 2007 State income tax return payment document, please write "Disaster Storms" on the front of the mailing envelope and on the top left corner of the income tax form. This helps speed-up processing of your return. If you receive a notice of penalties and interest, call (501) 682-1100 to request relief. You can find more information on the DFA website at: http://www.arkansas.gov/dfa/dfa taxes.html.

"All Arkansas taxpayers should also keep in mind the Arkansas Disaster Relief Program when filing their State Income Tax Return," said Director Richard Weiss. "Donations to the program are used by the Department of Emergency Management to help fund relief efforts for disaster victims."

A Contribution Coupon is included in the 2007 Arkansas Individual Income Tax packages. The amount you donate is deductible on your 2008 State Tax Return as a charitable contribution. Taxpayers can contribute to the fund by electing to donate a portion of their 2007 refund to the Arkansas Disaster Relief, or by completing the check-off contribution schedule and sending a check for the amount of the contribution for the check-off program. Please enter the amount you wish to donate on line 1 of the AR1000CO schedule of check-off contributions.

For more information about State Income Taxes and electronic filing visit http://www.arkansas.gov/dfa.