

## OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR

1509 West Seventh Street, Suite 401 Post Office Box 3278 Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-3278 Phone: (501) 682-2242 Fax: (501) 682-1029

http://www.arkansas.gov/dfa

Contact: Clarence Collins Telephone: 501/682-1130 Fax: 501/682-1691

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 14, 2008

## **Disaster Tax Relief for Additional Counties**

LITTLE ROCK, AR— The Department of Finance and Administration announced today that Governor Mike Beebe declared six additional counties state disaster areas due to damages caused by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding. These counties will now be eligible for special income tax relief under Arkansas law. The six counties are Chicot, Hempstead, Little River, Nevada, Poinsett, and Sebastian. This brings the total number of counties eligible for special tax relief to 58.

The deadline for filing income tax returns and paying any tax due is extended until August 15, 2008 for taxpayers affected by the storms and who reside or have a business in the affected counties. In addition, the Department will waive the failure to file, failure to pay, and interest charges for businesses unable to make withholding deposits and individuals or businesses unable to make estimate tax payments due between April 3, 2008 and May 27, 2008 because of the recent storms, tornadoes, and flooding.

**Previously Affected Counties**. The counties previously covered by the filing extension are: Arkansas, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Crawford, Craighead, Cross, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Greene, Hot Springs, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Lee, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Monroe, Nevada, Newton, Perry, Phillips, Pike, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff, and Yell.

When claiming the special extension on a 2007 State income tax return, please write "Disaster Storms" on the front of the mailing envelope and on the top left corner of the income tax form. This helps speed-up processing of your return. If you receive a notice of penalties and interest, call (501) 682-1100 to request relief. You can find more information on the DFA website at: http://www.arkansas.gov/dfa/dfa\_taxes.html.